Strength for the Weary

As I sat there I could feel my body trembling. It was as if it was having trouble supporting its own weight. I wondered if it would ever end. I knew I had felt like this many times before, and He always brought me through. The problem is the weakness of my body also has the tendency to bring down my spirits as well. I even felt the failures of my past as if they were fresh. I wondered where this was leading. What was the purpose of it all? My soul was starving, and I was desperately looking for something to give it strength.

As I sat there I was surrounded by people who had no idea how I was feeling. What they saw was a man in business attire who had just come from a day of work, and he had a smile on his face. What they didn’t know was that smile was forced, which can be both a bother and a blessing.

Then it happened, one of the people I was supposed to be leading read a passage of scripture, and six words burned in my ears. “He gives strength to the weary.” At that moment the Spirit illuminated that truth in my soul.  Even with my body still struggling to find its strength, my heart was lifted up with hope and comfort.  “He gives strength to the weary,” and I was weary: I qualified. The amazing thing is that the way He chose to do it was by simply reminding me of this truth in His word. It took no special mending of my body, nor did I need to be propped up with the things of this world.  He did it all with the power of His word. It is true, “Man shall not live by bread alone, but by every word that comes from the mouth of God.” My soul was starving and it had found its nourishment.

I don’t know where you are, but if you are child of God through faith and you find yourself weary, worn, and ready to give up, I want to remind you that He gives strength to the weary. My prayer is that He is doing it right now: that He is using this devotion to infuse you with faith and fortitude.  Know this, one day you will look back on this situation, whether in this life or on the beautiful shores of eternity, and you will say, “He pulled me through. He gave me the strength I needed.” The One in whom you trust does not faint or grow weary, and His understanding is unsearchable.

He gives strength to the weary, and increases the power of the weak. – Isaiah 40:29

D. Eaton

3 thoughts on “Strength for the Weary

  1. Thanks for sharing Wisdom that leads to A new Powerful Person ((((me))))
    Appremiate and very grateful that your heartfelt mission to all landed by X reason where I read and felt the blessing I need to continue my saga almost as close related as your experience! May God continue blessing and adding many more Loving Jotful and Harmonious rewarding momenrs Mr. Doug Eaton

    Like

Leave a Reply

